My Cart: 0 item(s)

Product Search
VISIT OUR PROMOTIONS page to see if we're offering any promotions. Turnaround time: Please allow a minimum of 2 business days for a non-bulk order to ship, bulk orders may take longer.
Product Search

Secure Checkout
Lavender 40/42 essential oil
    Lavender 40/42 essential oil
    Purchase Lavender 40/42 essential oil
    • Lavender 40/42 essential oil

      Hi Dev user. Product Code: lavender-40-42
      Variant: Code: '' | Name: ''
    • ★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.93/5 Stars. (74 Reviews)
    • $0.00
    • Weight:
    • Processing Time: usually 2-3 business days

       

    Botanical Name: Lavandula officinalis

    Plant Part: Flower

    Country of Origin: France

    Method of Extraction: Steam Distillation

    Lavender's aroma is floral, herbaceous, light with woody undertones. Its unique aroma has a calming effect on the user. Soothes the spirit, relieves anger, could be valuable in manic-depressive cases.

    The numbers in Lavender 40/42 indicate the linalyl acetate content; in this case, they indicate the product contains 40%-42% of linalyl acetate, a naturally occurring phytochemical found in many flowers and spice plants. Lavender 40/42 is generally a blend of various lavenders in order to get a consistent scent from batch to batch, with processors adding natural linalyl acetate to cover the smell of camphor or borneol components of a given lavender.

    Most soapers seem to prefer Lavender 40/42 because it smells the way they believe lavender should smell and it's fairly inexpensive......about half the price of other, more expensive lavenders which are usually reserved for aromatherapy purposes. This is our best selling essential oil for toiletries.

    Keeps insects away. Blends well with bergamot, chamomile, citronella, lemon, and pine. Flash point: 156F, OK to ship via air or ocean.

    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    4.93/5 Stars out of 74 Reviews
    5
    71
    4
    1
    3
    2
    2
    0
    1
    0
    Pages 4   5   6   7   8   4   5   6
    Even my husband likes this!
    (san antonio, TX, US) | May 11th, 2011
    I've been making soaps at home for a year now and usually my husband sniffs them, makes a face and hides in his office. This EO makes lovely CP soaps that he can't put down. We usually think of florals for the ladies, but this lavender produces a scent in my soaps that my father and stepfather like, too!
    Beautifully fragrant with hundreds of uses.
    (Marlton, NJ, US) | May 8th, 2011
    I use this oil for so many things, in soaps, perfumes, bath salts, massage oils, and cleaning products. It is my favorite oil to clean with, mixed with baking soda it is great for getting smells from pets and smoke out of furniture and carpets. Mixed with rosemary oils it can be combined with many body products to relieve bumps and bruises, and used alone it can be dabbed on cuts to promote healing and prevent scarring. Because I use so much of it, I adore the price on this website, I haven't found oil of a similar quality for less money anywhere.
    Excellent Lavender
    (Sycamore, IL, US) | May 7th, 2011
    I have been using CG Lavender for a few years now and it is definitely a reliable excellent lavender. I have used a few others but when I need quantity and quality nobody beats Camden Grey for value. The best.
    Lovely lavender!
    (Verona, WI, US) | May 3rd, 2011
    This is absolutely my favorite EO. I've used it in CP soap, body butters, lotion bars, solid perfumes & salves. I've tried lavender EO from other sources, but came back to Camden Grey for this wonderful EO! It is the EO I use most often and is in almost every order I place at CG. It is the best quality for a great price.
    Beautiful... Just Beautiful
    (Decatur, GA, US) | March 28th, 2011
    I have both this and the Bulgarian Lavender and I love them both this one has a nice smell and does just what lavender is know to do, heal and lift the spirit.
    Amazing!
    (Greenville, WI, US) | February 14th, 2011
    I'm new to soapmaking, I've only been doing it for a few months, and so I haven't had a lot of exposure to different types of EO's and FO's, but even I can tell that this is wonderful. In addition to soap, I've used it to scent my room, bubble baths, and my hair, and all were absolutely magnificent. I will definitely buy more of this wonderful product!
    Best-smelling Lavender
    (los angeles, CA, US) | January 27th, 2011
    I've long been a fan of Camden Grey's essential oils, especially their Lavender 40/42. I recently got curious, however, and also purchased their French, Bulgarian, and Maillette Lavenders to compare. I share my "research" with all of you! 40/42 Both sharp and quintessentially lavender smelling. Oil in a diffuser, on the skin, or on fabric mellows out over time. The progression goes form sharp and pleasant to more floral and herbaceous, and then mellows out earthy and a little woodsy. Bulgaria Finer than 40/42, but most similar to it in terms of its complexity. Both sharp terpine notes and warm, soft floral notes ... This, to me, smells much like 40/42 after it has mellowed a little bit. French Very fine, soft, even delicate scent. Reminds me most of Lavender flowers on the plant. Less sharp and more herbaceous, it is the most "floral" smelling as well, in my opinion. It is really lovely, but a little dull in comparison to 40/20 and the Bulgarian Lavender oils. Maillette This one reminds me of 40/42 after it's dried up. It is warm and very mild, almost woodsy, very earthy with a little sharpness. It actually reminds me of chemicals used to treat wood, or the wood in a new house. It is not an offensive smell, but definitely the least floral and "lavender"-ish of the four. My final two cents: 40/42 seems the best choice for flexible use -- used neat, as aromatherapy, in perfumes, soaps, etc. It is the most hearty and also (according to its description) is designed with consistency in mind. Bulgaria is a finer version of 40/42, I think, perhaps suited equally well for aromatherapy and being used neat. I'm no soapmaker or perfumer, but I would venture to guess this one is a bit too delicate to be diluted with other stuff. French is lovely and the least sharp, but also delicate -- perhaps most lavender-ish on its own, but again, I wonder if it would get lost when mixed with other components. Maillette is the least lavender-y of the bunch and I cannot imagine it being any more useful than 40/42, as 40/42 is both the best smelling (in my opinion) and most affordable. Hope this was helpful! Cheers! Thanks, Camden Grey; I love you!
    Lavender is Top Notch
    (chehalis, WA, US) | October 31st, 2010
    Thank you so much for offering this item. I have used it in both cold process and hot process soap making and it has real staying power which is what I need for soaps. I don't know what the flashpoint is but I added it to 180 degree hot process batch of soap and did not have any problems. Thanks again! I found my lavender!
    Great All Purpose Lavender
    (Alameda, CA, US) | September 28th, 2010
    I used this up so quickly! I have tried a few different varieties of lavenders, Croatian and French. This is a sweeter, lighter, less herbal lavender that can be used in cosmetics and soap. Great price.
    Favorite Lavender
    (Rancho Cordova, CA, US) | August 13th, 2010
    This is my favorite lavender so far. I've smelled about 8 varieties, and used 2 prior to this, and this is my favorite. As per usual with Camden Grey, the quality is high, and the price is better than most places.
    Write Review:
    Lavender 40/42 essential oil
    Click/Tap a star to rate. 5 stars is the best.
    All fields are required except "location".
    Your email is for verification purposes only and will NOT be published or shared. See our Privacy Policy. Thank you for your review!

    OUT OF STOCK ISSUES: If a customer orders a large quantity of a product and all of the product is not in stock when the order is entered into our system, once the new stock arrives we will ship separately whatever quantity we may owe the customer. Most of our restocking orders arrive at our warehouse 5-7 business days after we place a restocking order, sometimes sooner. Should the distiller or vendor inform us restocking will take longer than 7 business days, we’ll promptly notify the customer.

    Please note that we do not allow order cancellations for any reason and we don’t allow removal/cancellations of products which become partially or completely out of stock after the customer places an order.

    Raw materials/ingredients are dispensed by weight. Many customers ask how many ounces in a pound, there are 16 ounces in one pound. These are not fluid ounces, they are ounces by weight.

    EO = essential oil

    FO = fragrance oil

    Our containers are filled with products to where our commercial digital scales indicate the container should be filled. Some containers will be filled to the top, some will not.

    HOW OILS ARE DISPENSED: All our products are dispensed by weight. EO's in 8 oz. through 2 lbs. - amber plastic pharmaceutical-grade bottle. EO's in 5 and 10 lbs. - heavy duty plastic container w/pouring spout, the oil may remain inside the container at least 2 months. EO's in sizes of 25+ lbs. - industry-standard metal or plastic can with a pouring spout, the oil may remain inside the metal can indefinitely and up to 2 months in the plastic pail. It's our decision in which type of pail we dispense the product, metal cans are not readily available. CARRIER OILS - plastic bottles/pails depending on the size ordered, do not need to be transferred to glass unless you wish to do so. FO's - in plastic containers, contents do not need to be transferred to glass unless you wish to do so.

    Essential oils in sizes from ½ oz. to 4 oz. are dispensed in amber glass bottles without orifice reducers or glass droppers. If we ever run out of amber glass bottles, we reserve the right to use any other glass bottle available at that time. The only sizes of EO's dispensed with orifice reducers are 1/32, 1/16, 1/8 and 1/4 oz. sizes. If you require bottles/vials with orifice reducers or Eurodroppers, we sell those separately.

    HOW TO STORE: Upon receipt, EO's dispensed in plastic bottles MUST be transferred into amber glass bottles. EO's, FO's and BUTTERS should be stored in tightly-sealed containers away from direct light and heat. Many oils could be highly flammable, keep away from open flames. Refrigerating butters could adversely affect the consistency of the butter, please join our Forum if you need to learn how to handle and store products.

    S&H QUOTES: Our cart provides all S&H quotes. Please look for the link to enter your zip code and obtain a quote. Shipments weighing over 120 lbs. will not be quoted final S&H by our cart, you’ll be quoted a minimum for which you’ll pay during checkout. We’ll charge the balance due, if any, to the card on file. If you paid with PayPal, we’ll ask you to disburse the amount due, if any, before we ship. S&H provided by our cart is always an estimate, please review our Shipping Policies page if you need more information. We do not accept or allow order cancellations because the customer doesn’t agree to final S&H, please be sure you understand this before finalizing an order.