My Cart: 0 item(s)

Product Search
Product Search

Secure Checkout
Patchouli essential oil
    Patchouli essential oil
    Purchase Patchouli essential oil

    Botanical Name: Pogostemon patchouli

    Plant Part: Leaf

    Country of Origin: Indonesia

    Method of Extraction: Steam Distillation

    Patchouli provides an earthy, smoky, spicy and musky scent. Its color ranges from amber to dark brown, will vary from batch to batch.  Due to its strong astringent and cicatrizant properties, may be helpful for loose skin, especially after dieting, used in many anti-wrinkle products.

    In Jeanne Rose’s very instructive book “375 Essential Oils and Hydrosols” she mentions the following:

    “Great in skin care as it regulates cellular tissue, indicated for all aspect of the skin, especially old skin. Also useful for acne and seborrheic eczema. Patchouli is one of the most important and valuable raw materials of the perfume trade. Very good in all soaps and cosmetics.”

    “This is one EO that benefits from long storage.  After long storage, even up to 20 years, the fragrance deepens and becomes rich and alluring.”

    Its diuretic properties are useful in massages in cases of fluid retention and cellulite. Well known to increase libido, considered an aphrodisiac. Relieves effects from insect bites, protects clothes from moths. It is known as a tissue regenerator which helps stimulate regrowth of skin cells and the forming of scar tissue. Heals rough, cracked skin. Useful for treating acne, eczema, fungal infections and scalp disorders including dandruff.

    Blends well with black pepper, clary sage, frankincense, geranium, lavender and myrrh. Flash point: 215F.

    ***********

    This aromatherapy blend is provided courtesy of the book written by Roberta Wilson titled “Aromatherapy - Essential Oils for Vibrant Health and Beauty”.  We offer all of the ingredients mentioned in the blend.

    Appetite-Suppressing Stomach Rub

    2 oz. carrier oil (sweet almond, grapeseed, rice bran, etc.)
    8 drops fennel oil
    4 drops juniper oil
    3 drops patchouli oil

    Place the carrier oil in a clean container, add the essential oils, blend well.  Massage the mixture over your stomach and abdominal area several times daily as needed.  Discontinue immediately if there is any type of skin reaction.
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    4.94/5 Stars out of 36 Reviews
    Write a Review
    5
    34
    4
    2
    3
    0
    2
    0
    1
    0
    Pages 1   2   3   4
    Great for blending
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Lindsey Auman (Julian, PA, US) | February 21st, 2014
    Strong essential oil scent. It's definitely not everybody's cup of tea straight from the bottle. It smells musty and dirty. Makes you think of dirty socks. HOWEVER, don't be discouraged, because it works wonderfully with other essential oils. That musty sock smell helps ground out mints, lavender, orange, etc and blends into a great scent. Definitely don't judge this essential oil by the first smell!
    Very earthy and nice in perfumes
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Amy Malone (Crofton, KY, US) | August 18th, 2013
    I use this in several of my blends. It's a must have. It's sort of a musty earthy scent. When my sister was over the last time she smelled a perfume that I had used this heavily in and she said it reminded her of enchanted old castles and made her feel happy. For many people, it takes them back to the seventies. Either way, it's a peaceful soothing smell that I didn't expect to like, but it's really grown on me. It adds lasting power to any perfume if you use it as a base and it blends nicely with spicy and citrus.
    VERY strong scent!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Valerie Hilde (Westfield, MA, US) | July 30th, 2013
    This patchouli oil is very very strong. A little goes a looong way. It's a little "dirtier" smelling than other patchouli oils I've tried, and slightly less spicy. It blends well with grapefruit, bergamot, and ylang ylang, though.
    Beautiful Patchouli Oil...
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Stacey Brister (Vancouver, WA, US) | December 30th, 2012
    I love it! I've purchased both this Patchouli Oil, as well as the other "Wildcrafted Patchouli" from this site. I like both of them, very, very much. I bought the other one last time, and I'm buying this one this time. I can't choose between the two of them. They are both very nice, and so far, I love them equaly. I will always buy my essential oils from Camden Grey. All of the oils I've tried are of very high quality. The prices truely can't be beat either. I am thankful to have found Camden Grey! Thank You :)
    great stuff
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Jane E Zeller (Cape Carteret, NC, US) | November 1st, 2012
    nice -- deep, dark and earthy
    My Favorite
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Victoria keating (Cornville, AZ, US) | August 5th, 2012
    What can I say, I love this dark rich thick patchouli. A little goes a long way. In cp soap it mellows nicely with age. I use it in so many products I make. Highly recommended.
    Patchouli Love
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Julie Parmeter (Watertown, NY, US) | July 24th, 2012
    Oh, this Patchouli Essential Oil is just wonderful! I have tried a few others from another supplier. This one seems to have such a satisfying balance and is very rich without being overpowering or too musky. I am very pleased!
    Best Patchouli Oil - Love It!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Amy Stackhouse (Bloomsburg, PA, US) | May 5th, 2012
    Had a friend that requested I make a soap w/ this oil and I have been dying to because it has always been one of my favs. Oh boy! I only used .5oz in 2lbs of soap (I like a light scent), and it performed wonderfully! The scent isn't overkill and strong like some other patchouli I have used. Oh that musky scent is there - don't get me wrong - but its a nice deep scent; however, not overly assaulting on the nose. It leaves a nice hint of patchouli on you after washing. I highly recommend this oil. I look forward to using this oil again in my soapmaking.
    My love!!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    shaundel king (NJ, US) | February 18th, 2012
    1 of my FAV!! Love the smell and the benefits it brings. And it is true it get better with age. Makes my skin BEAUTIFUL! Heals my scars well. Love using this in a scrub as well. Great for my hair!! Look forward to experimenting with this a lot more! The price you can't beat! Thank you & love Camden Grey!
    Patchouli doesn't get any better than this!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Chrissy Barber (Marinette, WI, US) | August 27th, 2011
    I have a customer that is a patchouli purist and he absolutely goes bananas over this fragrance. Last forever, a little goes a long way - blends well with pretty much everything.
    Review Patchouli essential oil

    Write a Review for Patchouli essential oil

    • Click/Tap a star to rate. 5 stars is the best.
    • All fields are required except "Where Are You From".
    • Your email is for verification purposes only and will NOT be published or shared. See our Privacy Policy.

    Thank you for your review!

    SDS: Download

    CofA: Download

    Thanks for browsing thru this section which contains answers to many questions that are often asked of us. Here we explain where to locate CofA and SDS for a product, how we dispense and package our products, how products should be stored, basic terminology and the wait time for bulk products to ship from our warehouse. FYI: We're closed on Fridays.

    Certificate of Analysis (CofA) and Safety Data Sheet (SDS). We publish on our website those documents for most of our products, some products don't provide either because the product doesn't require it. In this same section where you're at now, look to the tab to the left titled Documents, click on it and that's where you'll find either document for the product you seek. If you do not find the document you require, please email us at customerservice@camdengrey.com so we can research further.

    BULK ITEMS: When a customer adds a bulk item to the cart, the customer’s immediately shown on the screen how many number of days should be allowed for the bulk product to arrive at our warehouse. If the bulk item happens to be in stock, we’ll ship sooner than the customer would expect. As we emerge from Covid, logistics operations are not yet back to normal, what used to arrive at our warehouse in 3 days now takes much longer. Should a vendor inform us the ordered product will take longer than what’s mentioned on our website we’ll email the customer with the latest information.

    TERMINOLOGY:

    EO = essential oil

    FO = fragrance oil

    HOW PRODUCTS ARE DISPENSED...

    BOTTLING/PACKAGING:

    Essential oils: in 1/32 oz. to 1/4 oz...amber glass vials with orifice reducers. ½ oz. to 2 oz...in amber glass bottles with white caps and Eurodroppers...3 to 4 oz. in amber glass bottles with black caps and without orifice reducers...7 oz. in aluminum bottles...15 oz. in amber glass bottles with black caps...10 & 25 lbs. in HDPE plastic containers with wide mouths although, occasionally, 25 lbs. may be dispensed in factory-issued metal containers with pouring spouts.

    28 lbs. of carrier oils and other liquids are dispensed in individual HDPE plastic gallon containers with handles, each holds the purchased net weight of liquid.

    30+ lbs. of carrier oils, other liquids, soft butters, Castile gel and other products are dispensed in plastic HDPE pails w/metal handles & pouring spouts in the lid; those products may remain inside the pails indefinitely when properly stored. After Covid, we reserve the right to use any packaging/dispensing container available to us and not mentioned above because it continues to be difficult many times to restock the same packaging container or material used in the past.

    NOTE: An EO may safely remain inside an aluminum container for up to 3 months, but if storing longer than 3 months the oil should be transferred to amber glass. Fragrances and carrier oils up to 8 lbs. may remain inside HDPE plastic bottles indefinitely. If the customer at any time feels more comfortable transferring a product to glass this should be done. ALL PRODUCTS ARE DISPENSED BY WEIGHT, THUS, SOME CONTAINERS MAY BE FILLED HIGHER THAN OTHERS DEPENDING ON THE WEIGHT AND VISCOSITY OF EACH PRODUCT.

    Raw materials/ingredients are dispensed by weight. Many customers ask how many ounces in a pound, there are 16 ounces in one pound. These are not fluid ounces, they are ounces by weight.

    HOW TO STORE: EOs, FOs and BUTTERS should be stored in tightly-sealed containers away from direct light and heat. Some EOs could be highly flammable, keep away from open flames. Keep all liquids and powders you purchase from Camden-Grey tightly capped and away from the reach of children, the elderly or infirm and pets. Refrigerating butters could adversely affect the consistency of the butter, please join our Forum if you need to learn how to handle, work with and store products. The link is towards the top right green section of our pages.

    (Rev. 6/13/23)