My Cart: 0 item(s)

Product Search
Product Search

Secure Checkout
Patchouli essential oil
    Patchouli essential oil
    Purchase Patchouli essential oil

    Botanical Name: Pogostemon patchouli

    Plant Part: Leaf

    Country of Origin: Indonesia

    Method of Extraction: Steam Distillation

    Patchouli provides an earthy, smoky, spicy and musky scent. Its color ranges from amber to dark brown, will vary from batch to batch.  Due to its strong astringent and cicatrizant properties, may be helpful for loose skin, especially after dieting, used in many anti-wrinkle products.

    In Jeanne Rose’s very instructive book “375 Essential Oils and Hydrosols” she mentions the following:

    “Great in skin care as it regulates cellular tissue, indicated for all aspect of the skin, especially old skin. Also useful for acne and seborrheic eczema. Patchouli is one of the most important and valuable raw materials of the perfume trade. Very good in all soaps and cosmetics.”

    “This is one EO that benefits from long storage.  After long storage, even up to 20 years, the fragrance deepens and becomes rich and alluring.”

    Its diuretic properties are useful in massages in cases of fluid retention and cellulite. Well known to increase libido, considered an aphrodisiac. Relieves effects from insect bites, protects clothes from moths. It is known as a tissue regenerator which helps stimulate regrowth of skin cells and the forming of scar tissue. Heals rough, cracked skin. Useful for treating acne, eczema, fungal infections and scalp disorders including dandruff.

    Blends well with black pepper, clary sage, frankincense, geranium, lavender and myrrh. Flash point: 215F.

    ***********

    This aromatherapy blend is provided courtesy of the book written by Roberta Wilson titled “Aromatherapy - Essential Oils for Vibrant Health and Beauty”.  We offer all of the ingredients mentioned in the blend.

    Appetite-Suppressing Stomach Rub

    2 oz. carrier oil (sweet almond, grapeseed, rice bran, etc.)
    8 drops fennel oil
    4 drops juniper oil
    3 drops patchouli oil

    Place the carrier oil in a clean container, add the essential oils, blend well.  Massage the mixture over your stomach and abdominal area several times daily as needed.  Discontinue immediately if there is any type of skin reaction.
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    4.94/5 Stars out of 36 Reviews
    Write a Review
    5
    34
    4
    2
    3
    0
    2
    0
    1
    0
    Pages 1   2   3   4
    The BEST Patchouli!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Jennifer Stevenson (West Lawn, PA, US) | August 15th, 2011
    I have purchased patchouli essential oil from several different suppliers in the past, and Camden Grey without a doubt, has the best Patchouli essential oil out there. Thank you for offering this great product!
    Patchouli is my favorite EO...
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Michelle Touchstone (Miami, FL, US) | July 18th, 2011
    I mix it conspicuously with other E.O.'s. Blends beautifully with Lavender 40/42. A little goes a long way and it gets better with age!
    The BEST out there!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Linda Temple (victor, MT, US) | April 20th, 2011
    I love this Patchouli oil.... Its nice and thick also...I feel it is the BEST Out there...Thank you Camden Grey
    strong
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Gwendolyn Thomas (Prince George, VA, US) | January 27th, 2011
    This is very good when sprayed in the home after cooking fish or smokers when they leave, skin regiments for inflammation and cellulite or toner.
    Wonderful!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Jessica Musgrave (Eugene, OR, US) | November 24th, 2010
    This patchouli oil is just wonderful! This scent is a highly requested one in my bath and body products. I love the earthy aroma, and so do my customers!
    Perfect Patchouli
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Heidi Halliburton (Prescott Valley, AZ, US) | November 9th, 2010
    I this Patchouli straight in a soaps and a lotion and in a blend and my customers love it! They smell it and they tell me it smells just like they remember it from the 60's and they buy it. Works for me :-)
    Patchouli - Indonesia
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Henry Smallwood (Chattanooga, TN, US) | November 19th, 2010
    This is a lighter patchouli, highlighting its floral aspect while maintaining its herbal core. A great blender as it has the balance of strength and delicacy to work well with other fragrances. Thanks for such a warm and bright version of a standard.
    Superb Quality
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    jessi lalk (cincinnati, OH, US) | October 5th, 2010
    Although patchouli is not a personal favorite, I use it to make one of our popular soaps. This is by far the best patchouli oil we've had and the price is excellent.
    superior!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Debra Sturdevant (Canastota, NY, US) | September 24th, 2010
    I have been a longtime customer of Camden Grey's essential oils and have always used their patchouli essential oil in our soap shop's soaps & lotions. I made the huge mistake of using a different patchouli oil obtained from another soaper. I started getting negative feedback from our shop's customers that my lotions no longer had that "sweet & smooth" scent and our soap totally LOST it's scent. I will never use another patchouli as Camden Grey's is truely superior! Our customer's are happy again!
    Not a favorite of mine for scent, but...
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Kara Stratton (Pine City, MN, US) | September 4th, 2010
    I ordered patchouli for it's theraputic properties primarily but also use it in some of my soap scent blends for that earthy base note it adds so well. On it's own, it would not be my choice, but by the other reviews, lots of others love it's scent. A great price for a great-for-you EO.
    Review Patchouli essential oil

    Write a Review for Patchouli essential oil

    • Click/Tap a star to rate. 5 stars is the best.
    • All fields are required except "Where Are You From".
    • Your email is for verification purposes only and will NOT be published or shared. See our Privacy Policy.

    Thank you for your review!

    SDS: Download

    CofA: Download

    Thanks for browsing thru this section which contains answers to many questions that are often asked of us. Here we explain where to locate CofA and SDS for a product, how we dispense and package our products, how products should be stored, basic terminology and the wait time for bulk products to ship from our warehouse. FYI: We're closed on Fridays.

    Certificate of Analysis (CofA) and Safety Data Sheet (SDS). We publish on our website those documents for most of our products, some products don't provide either because the product doesn't require it. In this same section where you're at now, look to the tab to the left titled Documents, click on it and that's where you'll find either document for the product you seek. If you do not find the document you require, please email us at customerservice@camdengrey.com so we can research further.

    BULK ITEMS: When a customer adds a bulk item to the cart, the customer’s immediately shown on the screen how many number of days should be allowed for the bulk product to arrive at our warehouse. If the bulk item happens to be in stock, we’ll ship sooner than the customer would expect. As we emerge from Covid, logistics operations are not yet back to normal, what used to arrive at our warehouse in 3 days now takes much longer. Should a vendor inform us the ordered product will take longer than what’s mentioned on our website we’ll email the customer with the latest information.

    TERMINOLOGY:

    EO = essential oil

    FO = fragrance oil

    HOW PRODUCTS ARE DISPENSED...

    BOTTLING/PACKAGING:

    Essential oils: in 1/32 oz. to 1/4 oz...amber glass vials with orifice reducers. ½ oz. to 2 oz...in amber glass bottles with white caps and Eurodroppers...3 to 4 oz. in amber glass bottles with black caps and without orifice reducers...7 oz. in aluminum bottles...15 oz. in amber glass bottles with black caps...10 & 25 lbs. in HDPE plastic containers with wide mouths although, occasionally, 25 lbs. may be dispensed in factory-issued metal containers with pouring spouts.

    28 lbs. of carrier oils and other liquids are dispensed in individual HDPE plastic gallon containers with handles, each holds the purchased net weight of liquid.

    30+ lbs. of carrier oils, other liquids, soft butters, Castile gel and other products are dispensed in plastic HDPE pails w/metal handles & pouring spouts in the lid; those products may remain inside the pails indefinitely when properly stored. After Covid, we reserve the right to use any packaging/dispensing container available to us and not mentioned above because it continues to be difficult many times to restock the same packaging container or material used in the past.

    NOTE: An EO may safely remain inside an aluminum container for up to 3 months, but if storing longer than 3 months the oil should be transferred to amber glass. Fragrances and carrier oils up to 8 lbs. may remain inside HDPE plastic bottles indefinitely. If the customer at any time feels more comfortable transferring a product to glass this should be done. ALL PRODUCTS ARE DISPENSED BY WEIGHT, THUS, SOME CONTAINERS MAY BE FILLED HIGHER THAN OTHERS DEPENDING ON THE WEIGHT AND VISCOSITY OF EACH PRODUCT.

    Raw materials/ingredients are dispensed by weight. Many customers ask how many ounces in a pound, there are 16 ounces in one pound. These are not fluid ounces, they are ounces by weight.

    HOW TO STORE: EOs, FOs and BUTTERS should be stored in tightly-sealed containers away from direct light and heat. Some EOs could be highly flammable, keep away from open flames. Keep all liquids and powders you purchase from Camden-Grey tightly capped and away from the reach of children, the elderly or infirm and pets. Refrigerating butters could adversely affect the consistency of the butter, please join our Forum if you need to learn how to handle, work with and store products. The link is towards the top right green section of our pages.

    (Rev. 6/13/23)