My Cart: 0 item(s)

Product Search
Product Search

Secure Checkout
Rosemary oil
    Rosemary oil
    Purchase Rosemary oil

    Botanical Name: Rosemarinus officinalis

    Plant Part: flowering top/leaf

    Country of Origin: Spain

    Method of Extraction: Steam Distillation

    Commercial grade. Rosemary EO has a strong, clear, penetrating, camphoraceous and herbaceous aroma. It is said to be analgesic, antidepressant, antirheumatic, antiseptic, antispasmodic, astringent, cicatrisant, digestive, diuretic, hypertensive and rubefacient. Some say this EO may not be suitable for people with epilepsy or high blood pressure. Avoid in pregnancy since it is an emmenagogue.

    Rosemary EO might antidote homeopathic remedies. Clears the head and aids memory, good for mental strain. Helps ease gout and tired, overworked muscles, tired or weak legs and circulatory problems of extremities, as well as cold feet. Since it stimulates blood circulation, it is a good remedy for low blood pressure. It is an excellent tonic for the liver and gall bladder. Is said to help lower high blood sugar. Used in shampoo and hair treatments, it helps stimulate blood circulation to the scalp; thus, it is being beneficial for promoting hair growth.

    Blends well with basil, cedarwood, frankincense, ginger, grapefruit, orange and peppermint. Flash point: 104 F. (Cannot ship via air or ocean, cannot ship via postal air services.)UN 1993, group 3, class 3.

    WHEN MAKING CP SOAP: This information was provided by our tester in response to a customer who complained her Rosemary CP soap promptly lost its scent: I think the problem is probably because rosemary EO has a very low flashpoint and it's simply burning off when you are making the soap, because the heat of saponification is raising the soap well above the rosemary EO flashpoint of 104 degrees Fahrenheit. What I do when I make CP with rosemary EO is I use a somewhat higher percentage of EO than you do (relative to the size of my recipe), and I rebatch the EO into the soap after saponification. That way, the EO is subjected to less heat and less chemical interaction which allows the scent to stay stronger. I also sometimes add a bit of a base note EO like vetiver to anchor it on rebatch as well. Good luck!

    IMPORTANT: The following information is provided for customers who may be confused about the aromas of Rosemary officinalis and Eucalyptus globulus essential oils and who may believe they were sent one instead of the other. Please rest assured we sent the correct essential oil.

    Essential oils must be properly sampled using a perfume tester. When an essential oil is smelled directly from the bottle, you will not smell the true aroma and notes and you will not be able to detect the normal changes the notes undergo as time passes. If you did not sample the oil using a perfume tester, please try again and use one.

    To further clarify this issue which has cropped up from time to time, we dipped perfume testers into both oils, both offer camphoraceous notes. One hour later, Eucalyptus globulus continued to smell camphoraceous but with a clean note while Rosemary officinalis also continued to smell camphoraceous but with an herbal note.

    Our policy has always been “no returns, all sales are final.” This same policy applies to any product the customer doesn’t like how it smells. If there are concerns, please order the smallest size of a product.

    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    4.72/5 Stars out of 29 Reviews
    Write a Review
    5
    23
    4
    5
    3
    0
    2
    1
    1
    0
    Pages 1   2   3
    Good price for a great oil
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Marlene Brooks (Independence, KS, US) | December 10th, 2011
    Rosemary is so clean and savory smelling, great in my CP soaps and shampoo bars!
    Great for cleaning!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Erica Ballard (Marlton, NJ, US) | November 26th, 2011
    I use this essential oil in several of my cleaning products. It leaves my kitchen and carpets smelling very fresh, and just a drop or two goes a very long way.
    A good oil for blending
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Edmond Luk (Falls Church, VA, US) | June 22nd, 2011
    This essential oil does not smell too much like the fresh herb (when undiluted) which I sometimes use to season my vinegar or olive oil. It does not mean it's bad though, so read on. It's strongly herbaceous and has a very noticeable camphor-like presence reminds me of wintergreen oil. I was planning on combining it with peppermint and tea tree, but upon opening the bottle I knew it would compete against those oils because they are all pretty heady, such as eucalyptus. I tried it with a few other oils and they all turn out very well. Blending with lavender is a no-brainer, and it also goes well with clary sage (a great one from this same shop - thanks Camden Grey). I have a feeling it will blend well with many other citrus and floral oil as well. Will report back if I create more good blends.
    Very Essential Oil
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Michelle Zerangue (Oxford, MS, US) | April 30th, 2011
    This is probably on of my most frequently ordered essential oils. It is very popular in several of my soaps and other products. The smell is clean, herbal, and fresh. It blends very nicely with lots of other essential oils.
    Strong & Lasting
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Eryn Milliken (Waynesville, IL, US) | April 12th, 2011
    I recently received an order containing Rosemary EO, and was surprised initially at the strength of the smell. (It smelled great, though!) I used about 2 oz in a large batch of CP soap (along with the 40/42 lavender) and am absolutely amazed at the smell. It isn't fading in the slightest after weeks and smells so wonderful in the shower. I will absolutely buy this product again!
    Lots of vapors
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    bonnie garrity (chehalis, WA, US) | March 28th, 2011
    This rosemary smells so similar to eucalyptus. They would make a great blend to even one another out for a high vapor blend. Very pleasant.
    A great wakeup call for your mind!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Kara Stratton (Pine City, MN, US) | September 4th, 2010
    Got this for a shampoo blend and a blend for mental wakeup for my husband when he's tired. Haven't tried it yet, but plan to experiment with it in cp soap as well!
    A classic
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Sara Bunn (youngsville, NC, US) | July 19th, 2010
    Has a distinctly resinous herbal scent. Works nicely with florals like Lavender, but also smells great with spicy scents like Clove or mild citrusy scents like Tangerine. Very nice, all-purpose EO that everyone should have.
    Goodbye Headache!
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    Jenny Jones (Starr, SC, US) | April 18th, 2010
    Rosemary is an excellent EO for many uses. I use it mostly for CP soaping but I can have a headache and just inhale from the bottle. I feel immediate relief. It's a great earthen wood scent with crunched pine needles and rosemary herbs all wrapped up within it. I am a big fan of this oil! Camden Grey's oils outrank any other company I've bought from.
    Review Rosemary oil

    Write a Review for Rosemary oil

    • Click/Tap a star to rate. 5 stars is the best.
    • All fields are required except "Where Are You From".
    • Your email is for verification purposes only and will NOT be published or shared. See our Privacy Policy.

    Thank you for your review!

    SDS: Download

    CofA: Download

    Other Documents: Download

    Thanks for browsing thru this section which contains answers to many questions that are often asked of us. Here we explain where to locate CofA and SDS for a product, how we dispense and package our products, how products should be stored, basic terminology and the wait time for bulk products to ship from our warehouse. FYI: We're closed on Fridays.

    Certificate of Analysis (CofA) and Safety Data Sheet (SDS). We publish on our website those documents for most of our products, some products don't provide either because the product doesn't require it. In this same section where you're at now, look to the tab to the left titled Documents, click on it and that's where you'll find either document for the product you seek. If you do not find the document you require, please email us at customerservice@camdengrey.com so we can research further.

    BULK ITEMS: When a customer adds a bulk item to the cart, the customer’s immediately shown on the screen how many number of days should be allowed for the bulk product to arrive at our warehouse. If the bulk item happens to be in stock, we’ll ship sooner than the customer would expect. As we emerge from Covid, logistics operations are not yet back to normal, what used to arrive at our warehouse in 3 days now takes much longer. Should a vendor inform us the ordered product will take longer than what’s mentioned on our website we’ll email the customer with the latest information.

    TERMINOLOGY:

    EO = essential oil

    FO = fragrance oil

    HOW PRODUCTS ARE DISPENSED...

    BOTTLING/PACKAGING:

    Essential oils: in 1/32 oz. to 1/4 oz...amber glass vials with orifice reducers. ½ oz. to 2 oz...in amber glass bottles with white caps and Eurodroppers...3 to 4 oz. in amber glass bottles with black caps and without orifice reducers...7 oz. in aluminum bottles...15 oz. in amber glass bottles with black caps...10 & 25 lbs. in HDPE plastic containers with wide mouths although, occasionally, 25 lbs. may be dispensed in factory-issued metal containers with pouring spouts.

    28 lbs. of carrier oils and other liquids are dispensed in individual HDPE plastic gallon containers with handles, each holds the purchased net weight of liquid.

    30+ lbs. of carrier oils, other liquids, soft butters, Castile gel and other products are dispensed in plastic HDPE pails w/metal handles & pouring spouts in the lid; those products may remain inside the pails indefinitely when properly stored. After Covid, we reserve the right to use any packaging/dispensing container available to us and not mentioned above because it continues to be difficult many times to restock the same packaging container or material used in the past.

    NOTE: An EO may safely remain inside an aluminum container for up to 3 months, but if storing longer than 3 months the oil should be transferred to amber glass. Fragrances and carrier oils up to 8 lbs. may remain inside HDPE plastic bottles indefinitely. If the customer at any time feels more comfortable transferring a product to glass this should be done. ALL PRODUCTS ARE DISPENSED BY WEIGHT, THUS, SOME CONTAINERS MAY BE FILLED HIGHER THAN OTHERS DEPENDING ON THE WEIGHT AND VISCOSITY OF EACH PRODUCT.

    Raw materials/ingredients are dispensed by weight. Many customers ask how many ounces in a pound, there are 16 ounces in one pound. These are not fluid ounces, they are ounces by weight.

    HOW TO STORE: EOs, FOs and BUTTERS should be stored in tightly-sealed containers away from direct light and heat. Some EOs could be highly flammable, keep away from open flames. Keep all liquids and powders you purchase from Camden-Grey tightly capped and away from the reach of children, the elderly or infirm and pets. Refrigerating butters could adversely affect the consistency of the butter, please join our Forum if you need to learn how to handle, work with and store products. The link is towards the top right green section of our pages.

    (Rev. 6/13/23)